The Marion County Land Development Regulation Commission met on June 4, 2025, at 5:30 p.m. in the Growth Services Main Training Room, 2710 E Silver Springs Blvd, Ocala, Florida.

CALL TO ORDER

Chairman David Tillman Called the Meeting to Order at 5:34 p.m.

ROLL CALL & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Rebecca Brinkley called roll, and the quorum was confirmed. Board members present were Chairman David Tillman, Christopher Howson, Robert Stepp, and Erica Larson.

Chairman David Tillman led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Staff members present were Assistant County Attorney Dana Olesky, Growth Services Director Chuck Varadin, Growth Services Deputy Director Ken Weyrauch, Senior Planner Christopher Rison, Planner Jared Rivera, County Engineer Steven Cohoon, Land Development Manager Aaron Pool, Stormwater Engineer Jason Cambre, and Staff Assistant Rebecca Brinkley.

Members of the public were present.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF PROOF OF PUBLICATION

Rebecca Brinkley read the Proof of Publication and advised that the meeting was properly advertised.

1. ADOPT THE FOLLOWING MINUTES

Robert Stepp made a motion to adopt the minutes from the May 7, 2025, and the May 21, 2025, meetings. The motion was seconded by Christopher Howson. The motion passed unanimously (4-0).

2. SCHEDULED ITEMS

2.1 Discussion for Proposed Marion County Land Development Code (LDC) Amendments to Review and Update Section 6.13.4 Stormwater Quantity Criteria

Steven Cohoon, County Engineer, and Jason Cambre, Stormwater Engineer, opened the discussion regarding this item.

Board Members voiced their recommendations and comments regarding the current language.

The Board reviewed changes to the language based on prior discussion. These updates will finalize the board recommendations, and this item will be moved to an upcoming public hearing. Robert Stepp made a motion to adopt changes and to proceed to the public hearing. Motion was seconded by Christopher Howson. Motion passed unanimously (4-0).

2.2 Discussion for Proposed Marion County Land Development Code (LDC) Amendments to Review and Update Section 6.13.5 Floodplain and Protection

Chairman David Tillman opened the discussion regarding this item.

Board Members voiced their recommendations and comments regarding the current language.

Jason Cambre, Stormwater Engineer, noted items that need to be followed up on. The Board agreed that more discussion on the language was needed. Jason will make edits to the verbiage and bring the item back to a future workshop.

2.3 Discussion for Proposed Marion County Land Development Code (LDC) Amendments to Review and Update Section 6.13.9 Grading Criteria

Jason Cambre, Stormwater Engineer, opened the discussion regarding this item.

Board Members voiced their recommendations and comments regarding the current language.

The Board Chair allowed public comment.

Mike Martin, 4750 S. Pine Avenue, Ocala, FL 34480

• Stated he is a manufacturer of accessory structures and is attending to gain knowledge and insight on how these changes will impact his industry.

Public comment was closed by the Chair.

Jason Cambre, Stormwater Engineer, noted items that need to be followed up on. The Board agreed that more discussion on the language was needed. Jason will make edits to the verbiage and bring the item back to a future workshop.

3. NEW BUSINESS

Steven Cohoon, County Engineer, initiated a discussion on the feasibility of eliminating Preliminary Platting in Marion County.

Board Members voiced their recommendations and comments.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 6:40 p.m.

Attest:

Rebecca Brinkley, Staff Assistant IV

David Tillman, Chairman Gene Losito, Vice Chairman

Land Development Regulation Commission Attendance Report

2025		January 15	February 5	February 19	March 5	March 19 – No Quorum	March 26	April 2	April 16	May 7	May 21 – PH & WS	June 4	June 18	July 2	July 16	August 6	August 20	September 3	September 17	October 1	October 16	November 5	November 19	December 3	December 17
Chris Howson	Board Member	Х	Х		Х	-	Х	Х	Х	Х		Х													
James Stockton, III	Board Member					-																			
Gene Losito	Board Member	Х			Х	-	Х	Х	Х		Х														
Jonny Heath	Board Member		Х	Х	Х	-					Х														
Richard Busche	Board Member	X	X	Х	Х	-	Х	Х	Х		Х														
Robert Stepp	Board Member		Х	X	Х	-	Х		Х			Х													
David Tillman	Board Member	X	X	Х	Х	-	Х	Х		Х	Х	Х													
*Erica Larson	Alternate	X		Х	Х	1	Х	Х		Х		Х													

X Present

- N/A